Click and snap…

The past few days I’ve spent a lot of hours creating the new website. Throughout the process I was feeling good about the progress and the potential of the work, but there was always something that seemed…off.  I couldn’t quite wrap my head around it.  I put it off as fear over the unknown and fear of failure and pressed on.

Then, last night, I showed my work to a trusted friend.  In the ensuing conversation, something clicked. I was feeling “off” because I wasn’t staying true to my identity. I was trying to create  project based on principles of who I am, without actually admitting who I was.

I am a dramaturg. I love what I do. I love to ask questions. To examine ideas, stories and programs. I love to see what is working and what is not. And I absolutely love figuring out how to make it better.

It is this love that was at the heart of the original Positive Project. I saw a problem in my own life, I examined it, I found a solution that I thought would work, and I tried it out.  And it did work. But it wasn’t enough. I needed to accept that what I needed/wanted to do was dramaturg my whole life and the lives of others.

With that realization, everything clicked into place. And so I spent today redesigning and re-branding the new The Dramaturged Life site.  And I feel really, really good about it. It is a shift in a new direction, but one that I feel is positive, exciting and worthwhile. One that has the ability to be so much more than before.

It’s time to get dramaturged.

 

Leave a Reply

