And so it begins…

I must confess, picking the first “positive moment” was a little overwhelming. The pressure that other people might actually read this and judge the whole project based on the first day was frighteningly real.  If I picked too large off a positive moment, then the whole idea could seem to lofty and unsustainable.  If I picked too small of a positive moment, then it could seem underwhelming or, worst of all, stupid.

Classic Spinning.

I admit it, once I realized what I was doing, I had to laugh.  I was actually Spinning about the first moment.

So I guess you could say the first positive moment was that I chose to stop Spinning. Instead of continuing down that black hole, I went with my gut feeling and picked what ended up to be a truly lovely, and unexpectedly enlightening, moment.

I spend a lot of my time indoors.  My profession is one of windowless rooms and dark spaces (more on that later).  My current living situation is a place without much natural light.  And I spend a lot of time in both of these spaces.

Recently, however, I have re-learned the healing, and mood lifting, benefits of the outdoors.  In particular, the sun.  It might sound cheesy, but there is some lightening of the soul that happens when you are outside on a pleasant day.

After spending yesterday morning indoors, working, I finally realized that it was a beautiful outside.  The sun was out on a glorious spring day – a day that I was missing in my somewhat darkened cave.  I noticed this as I was preparing my lunch and, realizing I had about 20 minutes before I needed to leave for my next appointment, I decided that my positive choice for the day was to take my lunch and eat outside.  Just me and my food.  No cellphone, no computer – nothing that would distract me.  Just 20 minutes of uninterrupted “me time” underneath the sun.

Needless to say, it was a lovely lunch.  And it left me in a great mood.

That moment should have been enough.  Except, I found that the time outside left me craving more, which meant that the rest of the day, I was searching for moments to take advantage of the beautiful day.  As I arrived at my appointment, I parked a city block away so that I could have a short, pleasant walk.  When that appointment ended earlier than anticipated, I took the book that I always carry (yes, I am that person) to a nearby park and read under a tree until I needed to leave for my next appointment. During my drive, I found that I was more aware of the natural beauty around me (i.e. I was actually paying attention to my surroundings).  As I left my final appointment of the day, I took the time to enjoy the beautiful flowers (so many kinds! so many colors!) planted alongside the building.  And as I arrived home, I found myself sitting on my front porch, relishing the final moments before the sun slipped away.

I couldn't resist taking a picture of the beautiful flowers!

I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the beautiful flowers!

At first I didn’t really realize what I was doing.  However, during that drive when I suddenly became very aware and appreciative of the scenery, I realized that by making that first positive choice, it led me to, somewhat unconsciously (at least at first), continue to search for other related positive choices throughout the day.  Which meant that the lovely mood that was created at lunch stayed with me for hours after I finished my meal.

Of course, since this was just the beginning, it’s too soon to claim that this will be a side effect of EVERY choice.  But it was a pleasant, and welcome, discovery all the same.  It seems one positive choice can have a much greater impact than I had originally anticipated.

Leave a Reply

